Dayton Literary Peace Prize issues call for submissions

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize, celebrating its 5th year in 2010, has issued a call for submissions for this year’s prize.  The prize is awarded to outstanding works of fiction and nonfiction that “promote peace and nonviolent conflict resolution.”  The award was inspired by the Dayton Peace Accords of 1995 which brought an end to the war in Bosnia.

Publishers have until March 31st to submit works for consideration.  Nominated books must be in English, published in 2009 and should address a central theme of peace.  The finalists will be announced in September 2010. Winners receive a $10,000 honorarium and will be honored at a gala event here in Dayton on November 7, 2010.  Former winners include Richard Bausch, Edwidge Danticat, Junot Diaz, Brad Kessler, Mark Kurlansky, Francine Prose, E. Benjamin Skinner, and Stephen Walker.  A lifetime achievement award is also given each year.  Former lifetime honorees include Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn, Taylor Branch, Elie Wiesel, and Studs Terkel.  The Dayton Literary Peace Prize is the only literary peace prize awarded in the United States.

For more information, visit the Dayton Literary Peace Prize website. Submissions for this year’s prize should be sent via email to Sharon Rab, or by mail to P.O. Box 461, Wright Brothers Branch, Dayton, Ohio 45409-0461.  News updates are also available by following the Dayton Literary Peace Prize on Twitter orFacebook.

(This post first appeared on my other site at, where I am the Dayton Book Examiner).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *